I Earned Over $80,000 On Upwork….From One Client

E.M. DuBois
4 min readOct 26, 2023

If you are new to freelance writing or if you have just been living under a rock, Upwork is a website that connects paying clients with freelancers. They take a portion of the fees in exchange for providing this opportunity.

Upwork gets a lot of hate, especially from self-proclaimed copy gurus like this:

…And I get it.

For most people who have no experience or who lack skills, Upwork can be a “race to the bottom” as Sarah calls it in the video.

However, I am not most people, and you may not be either.

In the last 8 months, I have made over 80 grand in cold hard cash from one single client in Upwork.

Pics or it didn’t happen? Sure:

My total take home? Over 90 thousand dollars.

I am, of course, bragging a bit here. But it is because I am proud as hell of this accomplishment. The reality is that this did not happen overnight. No, it happened over the course of a few years.

--

--

E.M. DuBois

E.M. is a teacher, freelance writer, husband, and father who loves writing creative non-fiction.